V/A - More Songs From Route 66: Roadside Attractions (SOB008 - 2001)

This text will be replaced by the flash music player.

More Songs of Route 66: Roadside Attractions is a musical roadmap. Charting a course along the path of old Route 66, this collection takes a journey in geographical order from the Great Lakes to the Pacific Ocean stopping along the way for some blues in Chicago, a bit of Woody Guthrie-penned folk in Oklahoma, a taste of western swing in Texas and a sampling of surf music in Los Angeles. Along the way you can also check out jump blues, truck driving music and some ethereal desert wanderings. This is a unique journey that highlights the musical history that has grown up along the path of Route 66.

This album is the best of Texas. With the exception of the Red Dirt Rangers (who actually live on Route 66), the singers and musicians who perform on this CD are all from Texas and they represent some of the finest talent in the Lone Star State. The familiar names (Asleep at the Wheel, Marcia Ball, Maryann Price), the new guard (Jimmy LaFave, Gary Primich, Steve James, Dale Watson, Randy Garibay) and the up-and-comers (Jason Roberts, Two High String Band) combined with some of the finest instrumentalists on the planet (Dave Biller, Floyd Domino, Herb Remington, Spencer Starnes, Rick McRae to name just a few) make this collection an excellent example of how diverse and deep the musical talent pool is in Texas.

This album is a tribute to the road. In 2001, Route 66 celebrates its 75th anniversary. This collection is intended to pay tribute to this remarkable road's history and our uniquely American musical styles that have grown up along the road. And like its predecessor, The Songs of Route 66: Music From the All-American Highway (SOB066) this album is intended as a soundtrack for those driving Route 66, or any road for that matter, which will hopefully enlighten, encourage and entertain.

"Route 66" – Marcia Ball, "Sweet Home Chicago" – Randy Garibay, "You Came a Long Way From St. Louis" – Gary Primich, "Hoppin’ In Joplin" – Maryann Price, "Oklahoma Hills" – Jimmy LaFave, "T-U-L-S-A Straight Ahead" – Jason Roberts, "Midnight in Amarillo" – Cindy Cashdollar with Herb Remington, "Tucumcari, Here I Come" – Dale Watson, "Albuquerque" – Asleep at the Wheel, "Goodbye, California (Hello, Illinois)" – Two High String Band, "Gallop to Gallup" – Dale Watson, "Arizona State Line" – Red Dirt Rangers, "California Sun" – The Leroi Brothers, "66 Highway Blues" – Steve James